She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

How to have a Merry Christmas… no matter what!

This is how I picture Christmas should be…

This is how I picture Christmas should be...

Even if I have none of my family anywhere near me in this country… even if I don’t yet have a complete family and it is only my 2 children & myself still… even if I do not have the means to provide all I would like for Christmas… I can still create THIS for my children’s memories!!!

Christmas is all in what you make it.  It’s in your attitude.  It’s in your approach to every person you come across.

When my children want to belt out “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” in the small confines of my tiny black sedan… again & again & again… is it really THAT bad to not hear another Black Eyed Peas song on the radio & instead sing along to the joy & amusement of my children?!  Sometimes, people, it does take a couples minutes of effort to push past your knee-jerk reaction to get annoyed at overly anxious & excited children who seem to be hyped up on sugar ALL SEASON!!  Especially when it is your own children whom are around you all the time with cabin fever from being out of school.  B-U-T please hear me out… what if you didn’t have them!?  What if something tragically happened to them??!   Listen, maybe just maybe you have to remind yourself how precious EVEN THIS ANNOYING MOMENT IS… if it were gone.  I’ll tell you, even I find myself almost pushing my children away… just out of pure “busyness” of cooking, or cleaning… and all they want to do was show me what they just colored.  HELLO!?!?  Really, is it THAT big of a deal if dinner waits another 5 minutes?????  Or if the dishes don’t all get washed right away?!

Mind you, I like a clean house (even though my kids tend to try to prove that wrong with the territories of their bedrooms)… and I love to cook, as well as put extra time into presentation of my meals.  I take pride in these little joys in life.  Yet, none of these hold a candle to the sight of my children smiling and looking at me longing for my hug!! And my children – as do all children – LOVE their mommy’s attention!  Just remember this every time you want to rush passed a “moment” in your busyness; how would you feel if you didn’t have them?

Take every moment with your children, your wife or husband, your parents, your siblings, your friends… take every moment in like the much needed oxygen that  allows you to live.  Without them… what is life?

This year, I decided to not get downhearted about being so far away from family & not having enough.  SO… I planned a Formal Christmas Eve Dinner Party at my house.  I invited just a couple friends to join my children & I.  Went to my favorite Publix and splurged on a ham & brown sugar glaze, as well as a couple pies, and all the ingredients for candied yams, green beans & salads.  My wonderful friends brought the wine (and I bought the kids sparkling grape juice to drink along with us).  The boys were in full suits with ties / bow ties.  The ladies in floor-length gowns.  Why?  Just because!!  Isn’t a party more festive when everyone is dressed up all fancy!?  I think so!!!  So, dress it up!!!  I took off a few ornaments off of our Christmas tree, and placed them in the center of the dining room table amongst some candles, and wrapped some toilet paper holders in striped wrapping paper to look like large candies.  It was so cute!  We read the Christmas Story from the Bible, and took communion.  We even sang Christmas carols (and recorded it & put it on Facebook)!  And guess what?  It felt like Christmas.

New traditions can be made when old ones are too far away to be grasped.  🙂

~ Merry Christmas!!!  From my family to yours… whatever your family looks like.  I am sending out hugs & love!!

Sonya… She Idealist.

We Wish You A Merry Christmas!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

