She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things #5 Have a Sense of Wonder!

Most adults can find wonder in large magnificent things such as a beautifully painted sunrise or sunset, or the birth of a new baby.  My children find wonder in the simplest things such as a puddle in a parking lot, an unusual bug on the sidewalk, a funny shaped cloud, a new way to fold a paper airplane; their list is endless.  For some reason, as we “grow up” we seemingly loose our ability to find wonder and awe in daily occurrences.  How can you boost your happiness in life?  Have a sense of wonder again!

Radnor Lake, in the spring!

Radnor Lake, during one of my walks.

I happen to live closely to Radnor Lake, here in Nashville, TN.  This small lake is a hidden oasis, in my opinion, and I love walking and exercising on it’s trails all throughout the spring, summer and fall months.  I have found that finding wonder and getting closer to nature really do go hand in hand.  By simply walking along the absolutely beautiful trails of Radnor Lake in the mornings, I get the opportunity to soak in such beauty.  Some mornings I walk alongside families of deer, who poke their heads up from eating just to watch me walk by… no running away… just a simple wink of their eyes, as if I belonged there 5 feet from them.  Other mornings I just stop in mid-step at the sun streaming in between the vast tree tops, lighting up the walking path with such amazing colors!  And don’t even get me started on the colors of the spring & fall in those hills!!  If you have any place you can get to, even weekly, to take a walk on the grass in your bare feet, picnic in the park, hike in the hills… do it!  The breathtaking beauty of God’s nature is enough to teach you how to cultivate a child-hood new sense of wonder all over again.

You may find that things even back in the city life will seem a bit more beautiful.  Open your eyes and see what shapes your imagination can find in the clouds in the sky.  Maybe you will even be tempted to puddle jump in the parking lot after the next rain! 🙂

Sonya... puddle jumping!

When your sense of wonder grows, your gratefulness grows.  This simple step is a great way to boost your happiness anytime, any day.  I look forward to hearing about your awe and wonder stories!

🙂 Sonya… She Idealist.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Important Things #5 Have a Sense of Wonder!

  1. One of the things that continually pleasantly surprises me about the most successful peoople I know is the basic sense of wonder they have for the world around them. (and I define successful as those whose lives are full- those who make a difference in the world- those who will find heaven. Many of them are very financially successful as well). It is this sense of wonder that keeps us motivated, curious, inspired. It is also contagious. It rubs off on us from kids and the aged, so keep both close and on a regular basis.

  2. It was Christ that said we must be like children to enter the kindom of heaven. I think this is part of what He meant. I’ve had many “awe” experiences lately. If you look on my fb you will find numerous sunrise and sunset photos. Yesterday was beautiful as well. Go a bit farther back and you will find a double rainbow ending on the boom of an 80 ton Link Belt crane I was running. That was really cool! Photographers are fortunate to be able to not only experience the awe moment, but capture it and pass it along to others. That way we get to share it all over again. I’m kinda selfish that way. I like to relive these moments. And of course the most awe inspiring moment I have ever experienced was the moment my daughter was born. Words will not describe that one!!

Leave a Reply

