She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things #6 Find People You Love

I challenge you to find people you love and make sure they know how valued & appreciated they are to you!  Surrounding yourself with people you love (family, friends, spouse, children) can have the highest impact on your life.  Let me give you a few examples of why I think this holds true.

  • There are countless stories in history where someone give up their life, in order to save someone that they love from peril.
  • When a man or woman falls in love, they will do nearly anything for that person, including risking their life.
  • A person will work 1000% harder than he has ever worked for his own needs, just to provide for his loved ones.
  • Professional sports players, actors, musicians, and award winners all give thanks to their family and loved ones after each success.
  • People find the courage and will to keep going in near-death situations, because of their love for their closest loves ones.

These are only a few examples of situations that back up the importance of family and friends to have near you.  Near is not necessarily a physical distance.  My family is far far away from where I live in TN.  Most of my family lives in California still, where I am from.  Having them emotionally close is so vital to my happiness, as is the same with everyone. Building a closeness with friends is extremely valuable as they can stand in that gap for your family.  My closest friends have created that “family” for me here.  Without them, I would not be where I am now.

So, find those people you love.  Find a way to tell them you love them, value them, appreciate them, and will do whatever you can for them.  Create an inner circle of people you love in your life.  Your happiness and success depends on it!!

To all of my personal family and friends.  Know that I love you and care for you deeply!!  Mom & Dad, and all of my siblings (yes, there’s a lot of us!) and families… I miss you dreadfully!!!  I will find a way to get back out to visit as soon as I can!  xoxoxoxo  To all of my close friends here in TN, I am so grateful to have you in my life.  There are not enough words to describe the thankfulness I have for you all.  You are my local family… I love you.

My goofy sisters & I

Until next time, everyone needs to SMILE!!!  It looks good on you!

🙂 Sonya… She Idealist.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Important Things #6 Find People You Love

  1. I choose carefully those I allow into my life and then do everything I can do keep them for a lifetime. Life is a journey of learning and growing that only ends when we finally meet our maker. Learning how to love and who to love is no different. You might think it unfair to choose to love some more than others, especially if you are young. However many people will take advantage of you and although Christ taught us to love everyone there are many other lessons to be learned in both old and new testiments. Tough love is also Christian. I have found that loving and giving freely without careful thought and prayer can get you in trouble. I have surrounded myself with an extended family of very loving and generous people. I have been blessed to find them everywhere. Where I attend churh- and this is all over the country- where I dance-across two states- in my business-once again all over the country- and in my travels. I have learned through the years and with prayer to train myself to be aware- for example: I will sometimes just stop in a busy crowd and ask? Who do You want me to talk to today? It is amazing how many times someone will start a conversation and almost always something deep. I did this once in San Antonio. As soon as I finished my short prayer I noticed a fellow vendor across the room smiling at me like we knew each other. We had both been through a very tough experience from exactly the opposite side. Most of the time this would have been an instant “difficult situation” once we started talking, but we knew deep down we needed to hear each other’s side of the issue. At lunch we went outside and sat on the Riverwalk to finish our disscussion. Our waiter’s name was Angel. This was one of the most spiritual discussions I have ever had and in this case we never saw each other again- that is unusual. There was a lot of love in that conversation and it started with the Love of Christ. In most cases where I have an “instant” connection it is usually results in a permanant relationship, but not always.

    Such is the case of my best friends. Dawn and Jennie. Both sent into my life for a reason. Jennie I met over 4 years ago. Both of us single and trying to get our feet back on the ground we have had a very unusual relationship. We are extremely close, Jennie has even traveled with me on business trips- she helps me out in the business too. But we drew lines very early on and never crossed them. I have been there for her when her relationships have not worked and supported her as she struggles to raise her wonderful daughter. Jennie has huge problems dealing with her ex as so many do. We fall back on each other when we need to. Last night being a good example. So far this year I’ve had a wave of emotions wash over me. All she had to do was just remind me of what I have told her so many times. haha Don’t you just hate it when someone knows you so well to use your own words to put you back in place. Tough Love.

    And then there’s Dawn or as her granddaughter and I call her Dawnie. I have never known a more faithful, honest, hard working loving woman in my life. We tried dating but it just didn’t work. She’s one of these people that I could say Dawnie I need you here, and she would drive 1000 miles from DE no questions asked. I would do the same for her, and even offered recently when she found herself in a tough spot.

    Of course I love my family and tell them often. And this is not something my family used to do. My parents seldom ever expressed emotion when I was growing up. No hugs, no I love yous or that kind of thing. It wasn’t until I met Teri that I learned to express myself. And some now say I express myself too much!!! haha Teri is my ex by the way. A wonderful woman whom I loved very much. I’m just a hard guy to live with and she really couldn’t handle me. I could go on and on with this but to sum it up. If you love wisely you can simply not have too many loving people in your life, especially kids. Kids must learn how to love so be sure to teach them how to love wisely. First love the Lord, then love yourself, then love those whom the Lord puts in your life in the fashion in which He would love and you simply can’t go wrong.

Leave a Reply

