She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things #7 Set Goals

Sorry everyone ~ my daughter has been home sick for an entire week & I have not been blogging! 😦

Wow, this blog timing is impeccable!  I just attended a conference put on my the Tom Black Center for Sales Excellence called $alesCamp 2011 this past Saturday.  Several of the speakers, including Tom Black himself, talked on how to Set Goals.  What great notes I took, which is now considered “research” for this blog entry!  hahaha  This conference brought back into my mind an entire childhood life being raised by a mother who ingrained into my mind the books, tapes, and videos of top motivational speakers and sales & life coaches such as Zig Ziglar, Dale Carnegy and Anthony Robbins.  Oh, and does ANYBODY else besides my family know of the Zig Ziglar Singers!?  We listened to his songs EVERYDAY growing up!!!  I am not joking AT ALL!!  Songs such as “Poor Boiled Bullfrog” and “Mister Mediocroty”… wow, I miss those songs!  If anyone can locate a copy of that tape, since my mother cannot find hers anymore, I promise we will buy it from you & you will be my new best friend!!!!

Goals are absolutely essential to success in life!  One of my favorite motivational speakers, second to Zig Ziglar, is a tall guy by the name of Anthony Robbins.  I have went through his CD set, “Personal Power II – The Driving Force” several times throughout my life.  The first thing you learn is that what changes your life is making decisions and using your ability to take consistent action on those decisions.  He teaches that in order to have success you must first know your outcome = set goals!  Be specific when you set your goals.  Write down just a few (like 3) short term, very reachable goals.  Then, you have to get yourself to take action by deciding to do so.  Write down the steps, backwards, that it will take to accomplish those specific goals, then start from the beginning baby step.  Take it step by step, and it’s easy!  Thirdly, he asks you to pay attention and notice what you’re getting from your actions.  If what you’re doing is not working, well then simply change your approach!  Bringing in role models / mentors into your life will save you time and energy and accelerate your success.  What is a role model / mentor?  Someone who is already successfully doing what it is you want to do.  Ask them what they are doing… do the same things!  Ideally, you will start heading towards getting the same results!

I could reference a list of books that you can read… there are SO many!!  Some of my favorites are: “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen Covey, “Good To Great” by Jim Collins, “See You At The Top” by Zig Ziglar,  “The Dip” by Seth Godin.

QUESTION:  What are your favorite books for goals and/or life success??

CHALLENGE:  Share your story on setting goals & the success you gained from it… be a motivating force for someone else who may read it here!

I hope this brief writing on setting goals has inspired you to do just that!  It has me.  I have my detailed short term goals written down & I am tackling them one-by-one!  I have been working on staying focussed on my goals, no matter my circumstances.  How I will go about attaining my goals may need tweaking or readjusting, yet circumstances do NOT keep me from arriving at your goals.  They may just make them a bit more challenging to get!  And all the more rewarding once I get them NO MATTER WHAT!

Focus on your goals... Just don't get caught focusing! 🙂

Until next time… Have a fantastic day!

🙂 Sonya… She Idealist

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Important Things #7 Set Goals

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Important Things #7 Set Goals « She Idealist -- Topsy.com

  2. How can you possibly achieve what you desire if you do not know what you want? You must set goals first to clarify in your own mind what you want and where you want to be in life. Then you must see yourself there in your mind. Truly make yourself believe this is who I am and where I should be. Then do whatever it takes to deserve the life you seek
    I started hitting the gym 25 years ago and have not missed more than a week since I started. I like the way I look and deserve to look like a guy dedicated to exercise. I work out on pleasure and business trips and am headed to the gym tonight at the resort
    I started my business 15 years ago. I saw myself successful and have worked very hard and smart to make it happen. http://Www.DLS7.com
    I now envision myself happily married and by years end will be well on my way to that goal as well as becoming an accomplished tango dancer!
    If you can see it- you can achieve it!!

Leave a Reply

