She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things #8 ~ Help others

Have you seen that commercial on TV where one person does a random act of kindness… someone see’s it, and it inspires them to do something nice for a stranger… and it keeps going & going just because a single person notices something that one other person does out of kindness?  It’s a great commercial.

Have you seen the movie, “Pay It Forward”?  A great movie about a kid who goes on a mission to pretty much change the world & make it a better place after a teacher gives an assignment… through random acts of kindness, with the stipulation that the person done the kindness to must pay it forward.  If you haven’t seen it yet, do it TODAY!

Both of these have the same underlying theme… that kindness is contagious!  I urge you all, every day this week – and at least one time today – to find at least one way to help others.

It doesn’t have to take a lot of money either!  Just the other day Jace, Savannah & I were driving and saw a homeless man on the side of the road holding his sign.  I have never been one to feel right handing them cash… however, I do feel the need to help in some way.  So, my kids in all of their young wisdom suggested buying him food.  How great are my kids?! 🙂  It’s not that we have “extra money”… we don’t… however, we have a lot more than he does, so it is a blessing easy to give away.  We drove through McDonald’s right next to him, bought him a hot big mac meal and a large coke and drove back to him and my kids handed it to him.  He was very thankful and put down his sign, immediately digging into the bag!  Both of my children and I felt amazing.  Hopefully, someone else saw that and did another random act of kindness for someone else.

QUESTION:  What simple ideas can you share to help others?

CHALLENGE: Help one person today!  Do not expect anything in return, except that they in-return help someone else!  Let’s spread this like wildfire today!!

🙂 Sonya… She Idealist

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Important Things #8 ~ Help others

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Important Things #8 ~ Help others « She Idealist -- Topsy.com

  2. Truly wise children! The wisdom of youth can be amazing. I’ve had some really interesting conversations with people asking for money. Some truly need a hand, others- not. One such man hit me up in Nashville some time back. I didn’t feel right but gave him a little after we had talked. Three months later I ran into the same guy at the same spot. He didn’t remember me but I did him. He asked for money and I said, now Burton you’re a carpenter. This is beneath you, you’re a better man than this. I know it’s hard to find work but you go find a job site and work for free 1 day. Be the best hand they’ve got that day and if they don’t hire you they will tell someone that will. Burton looked at me as if he’d seen a ghost. I think it really scared him. I don’t know if he went to work or just never came back to that same spot, but I never saw him again. haha
    I seldom give handouts, but will seldom refuse to give a hand up.

Leave a Reply

