She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things # 18 ~ Read books

This topic in my list of 30 Important Things is good & bad for me to write.  I am a bit ADD, which means I never have only one thing going for too long on it’s own.  This includes Reading Books.  I normally am reading multiple books at one time.  I think this is fairly common for like personalitied people whom work better when their plates are full! haha

Communication is absolutely HUGE to me.  It is absolutely vital to the pursuit of any important thing in life: relationship, profession, friendship, parenting.  The human language, in every form, including the written word are all great forms of communication.  On this note, I am always looking to learn more and become better at communicating.  In my mind, if I am constantly improving my communication skills – from reading, listening, speaking, the way I carry myself (body language) – then it will naturally roll over improvement into all of those saught after areas of my life: relationship, profession, friendship, parenting.

I have a feeling I am going off on a tangent.  LOL  It happens sometimes. 🙂  Let me try and focus back on the actual topic of the importance of reading books.

As you know, I am a mother.  My children are now 7 1/2 (girl) and 9 (boy) and are both very smart and advanced in school.  Both are great communicators (too good actually! LOL), and love reading.  When elementary schools determine if children can go into “advanced placement” programs, they do so based on their reading skills.  Not math, not science… reading.  Why is reading linked with success in children?  Books do a multitude of things for children (and adults alike); they boost imagination, develop congnitive reasoning skills, tests memory recall, encourages them to think and ask questions, and ignites a desire to learn more.  Reading builds basic skills they will need in the work force as well as in life in general.

Reading hold those same truths for adults as well.  However, do not mistake reading for educational purposes alone.  Do you enjoy a great novel that catipults your imagination into a world you wish to live in?  Do you prefer self-improvement books to learn how to be a better you in specific areas of your life?  Do you prefer success leadership books to drive your ambition to push you farther on the path you desire to conquer?  Read.  Read.  Read!

“A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without
breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your
face.  It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both
provocation and privacy.”  ~Edward P. Morgan

P.S. If you’re in a relationship, why not spend a rainy afternoon in bed reading next to each other?! 😉  Like in this still from Sex and the City scene shown below.  It’s one of my favorite stills from the show.

Reading in bed together... :)

QUESTION: What are your top 3 favorite books of all time?  What are you reading right now?

Putting my nose back into my book,

Sonya… She Idealist.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

