She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things # 20 ~ Don’t compare yourself with others

With Halloween quickly approaching… this blog is quite fitting.  This is one time of year where people dress up to be anything they want to be!  Some questions we ponder when choosing our costume includes:  What do I feel like being…. what’s my mood…. what do I want to feel like…. what reaction or comments am I after…. what personality do I want to portray…. ?  And when you put on your chosen costume and strut out the door, you take on that “persona”, that confidence of whatever it is you chose to be.

Why can’t we think like this every day?  Why can we not look into the mirror before we start our day and say, “What do I feel like being today?” “What or who do I want to portray today?”  Today, I challenge you to do just that… compare yourself with who it is you say you are… who you are on the inside.  Don’t compare yourself with others!

Who do you see...

Who do you see...

I have heard it said that the wealthiest people on earth put their pants on one leg at a time… the same as you or I.  They also have the same 24 hours in each day as do you and I.  And even though this post isn’t about wealth or financial success… it is about personal success and triumph over how you see yourself.  Listen, God made YOU… and he made me too.  He doesn’t make mistakes.

Okay, I am going to change course for one second – because this thought literally popped into my mind right now, and I want to share it.  Regarding visually comparing yourself with others.  This is a funny thought process that I share with only my closest of girlfriends!  So, you are all quite lucky today!! HAHA  I am blessed with being very thin naturally.  Some girls do not have that.  And believe me I have heard it too many times, “I hate you… you’re skinny no matter what.”  Guess what!?  That same girl saying that to me, I say right back to her, “Gosh… seriously, I agree it’s not fair, you have great boobs, no matter what!  Yup… small body works everywhere!!”  HAHAHAHA!!!!  Oh I make myself giggle… hehehe.  Oh I have more… but I have to stop… I digress.

What I am trying to say is this:  While you’re sitting there comparing yourself to the person sitting next to you, assuming they have it better, they are in turn doing the same thing!  No one is perfectly happy with who or where they are in life.  The old saying “the grass is always greener on the other side” is true of how everyone thinks.  Partly, you can argue that it helps to push you to do better and do more.  Yes, but only party.  Really what it does is gets your eyes off of being thankful for what you do have and counting your blessings to God.  Imagine… if you woke up tomorrow with only the things you thanked God for today.  What would you be left with?

God never promised to give you everything… He did promise to provide for your needs.  You’d be surprised what we can “survive” on!!  LOL

So, next time you start to compare yourself with others… think about every little thing that you DO have.  Think about what all has been blessed to you in your life.  Think about what others less or worse off have… instead of thinking about those who have more.  Maybe, just maybe God is waiting on blessing you with more until you learn to praise Him with what you have now.  That includes WHO you are.

Amen & good night. 🙂

Sonya… She Idealist.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Important Things # 20 ~ Don’t compare yourself with others

  1. Paulina on said:

    totally agree…great concept to live by 🙂

Leave a Reply

