She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things # 23 ~ Don’t focus on negative thoughts…

To every thing good there is a bad side that can be found…. if you look for it, you can find it.  I cannot scream loud enough in this written blog, “DON’T FOCUS ON NEGATIVE THOUGHTS!” There, whew, that feels better to get off my chest.  lol

Even though I am a very idealistic and optimistic person, I still find it’s easy to fall prey to negative thoughts.  They play out in full color motion picture in your mind awaiting your attention.  However, they are only there to bring you pain.

Your mind can seem untamable at times, like a wild beast on the prowl for your good fortune.  You CAN learn to control your thoughts though, and this is a key piece in the puzzle to controlling your attitude and emotions.  Learning how to focus on the positive side of the story.  NOTE: I am not intending to tell you to picture the world around you only as an imaginary story book land, instead to keep a grasp on reality and knowing that there are two sides to the story… knowledge is power… and choose to keep focused on the positive side.

Like in the game of tennis (this was my game in High School so you will have to bear with this analogy) – one lesson you learn in the very beginning of tennis lessons is that wherever your hip is pointing, that is likely where the ball will go.  As a rough example… the same holds true of your mind.  Whatever you dwell on, there your life will take you.

Here is a key lesson on keeping yourself from focusing on negative thoughts.  Plant good thoughts constantly!!  Do you remember the old saying, “put good in, get good out & put bad in, get bad out”…. well, darlings… it’s true.  However cheesy you think that line may sound, it works.  And I dare you to try it.  No, I tripple dog dare you!!!  (hahaha…. I just watched “The Christmas Story” so it’s stuck in my head, and guess what… coming out in my blog!  See… point proven!! HA)

How do you plant good thoughts?  Here are some things I personally do, which I have learned over the years:

  1. Read the Bible (Psalms is a good one to read daily for good uplifting thoughts)
  2. Remember all your blessings (Every night, I make it a point to thank the Lord for all the blessings I can come up with… thinking of even the smallest things like that we have a roof over our head, and a car, and Christmas presents to open, and food every day to eat… really put how blessed you are compared to so many into perspective.)
  3. Laugh (Find something anything that makes you laugh… and have a good laugh!  YouTube can be a great tool during negative thought moments to get an immediate distraction into your mind to put a quick stop to negative thoughts in your mind.)
  4. Read, Listen, Watch (How much good, positive, uplifting things can you get your hands on?  I am a fan of quality motivational speakers and listen to them throughout the year.  I have a personal library of leadership, communication, and life building books… plus some personal good read favorites of course as well.  The more of this you have constantly going into your mind, the more your mind will be bombarded with this and it will outweigh negative thoughts.)

The point is to have so much good memorized in your mind and heart that any attempt of a negative thought is beaten down immediately and easily.  Without effort almost you will be able to push them out of the way like shooing a fly off of your summer picnic meal.  Yes, they will still come after your yummy life food… but they will merely be small helpless flies.  No longer beasts coming to devour your life hopes and dreams.

YOU CAN DO THIS!!!!  I have faith in you.  I believe in you.  I cannot wait to hear the good reports!!

Have an amazing night!

Sonya… She Idealist.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Important Things # 23 ~ Don’t focus on negative thoughts…

  1. Sonya, you are living the dream…the one God envisioned for you. What an asset and great testimony you are making of your life. I am honored to “know” you. Your children are so blessed to have you as their mother! I have rarely had this much admiration for a person that I have never actually met. You are an impressive person. Your fan in Kentucky-Steve

    • Steve, I greatly appreciate your uplifting and supportive comments. Thank you so much for your continuous open support and for following my blog. I am so very glad that you like it. 🙂 Sonya

Leave a Reply

