She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

Important Things # 24 ~ …Focus on creating what you desire

Focus on creating what you desire….  Hmm, well this is an interesting blog for me to write.  How do I put this into words – I’m coming up with it as I type so be patient with me! LOL

Seriously I am…. totally not kidding. 🙂  However, I am focused on creating this blog post, it is what I desire at this moment… haha… like that tie in!?  🙂 I’m coy that way.  😉  Okay okay, I’m done being funny.  Maybe.  Well, I guess we’ll see…  (okay, I don’t know what’s gotten into me at the moment! HA)  …I suppose I’m losing focus.  LOL

It IS that simple to lose focus.  Especially for us ADD types!  All those out there that relate are nodding their heads in agreement and are already bored and waiting for me to finally get to my point!  Riiight?!  Right!  🙂

As the New Year of 2012 approaches in only 2 days from the moment I am typing this, many of you are making your New Years Resolutions.  Some of you don’t make them because them because you’re afraid you won’t keep them and then will feel unaccomplished.  Personally, I think it is a great thing that we do at New Years…. actually, I think there are two great things that we do at New Years.

Firstly, we reflect.  We reflect on the year that is ending.  What did we do wrong?  What did we do right?  What do we wish we would have had the courage to attempt?  What are we proud of that we were brave enough to try?  Who do we need to break our ties with in our life?  Who are we thankful that we have in our life and want to keep forever?  What have we learned about ourselves that needs to change?  Where in our lives have we grown and become better?  What habit do we want so badly to change?  What do we want to be able to make a habit?  There are so many other questions and moments we ponder.  And pondering can be very productive – as long as you “don’t focus on negative thoughts” and use the pondering only as a building tool.

Then, we make our New Years Resolutions.  From the reflecting and pondering of the ending year, we build our “lists” of what we want and wish for ourselves to accomplish.  Do you make one?  I do.  However, I try to take the tools I learn in all of my leadership, success, sales, and goals books and put them to use to make them actually happen.  One trick… don’t make a list of 100 things!!!!!  Seriously, let’s make this attainable.

For each thing you put on your list, break it down into steps.  Do this by building backwards.  Think of that resolution item as the end goal… the finished building.  And take apart that building piece-by-piece so that you can see from start-to-finish what it takes to build it.  This will give you simple daily steps as a map in which to follow to realistically and actually achieve this goal.  Now… do this for each resolution.  Another helpful thing is to place time frames by each step.  For instance, if this were a true building being built, there are actual time frames that are required in order to file specific paperwork and wait on approvals.  To think you can push through an entire permit process in an hour is quite unrealistic.  So, do a little research and see how long each step should take… set a time frame, and try to hold to it.  By being realistic with your idealistic goals, you will not set yourself up for failure.  Also, if you bust your butt you could actually accomplish this goal faster than anticipated.  Remember, it’s always better to under-promise and over-deliver, even when your client is yourself.  Tools to set these mapped out steps and time frames can be as simple as a Google search, or even better would be someone who already has accomplished this thing in their life.  If you have someone like that, and can ask them to mentor or guide you through it, then you’re a step ahead already.  And from experience, people are normally more than happy to help share their stories of successes.  Don’t believe me… try it… just ask someone. 🙂  You should look at this list daily, keep track of your progress, see what can and needs to be done next, work on doing it, and cross out the steps as you’ve accomplished them.  Personally, I like the act of actually crossing things out on my list.  It makes me feel like I’ve done something… silly I know.  But it works a little. 🙂

Why is it so important to be detailed like this with something that people deem a silly ritual, like New Years Resolutions?  Because they are truly things that you desire!!!!!  The desires of your heart are nothing to be taken lightly.  By taking them as serious as the job you do to earn your living, you will be giving proper focus on creating what you desire.  This… this is having a living, not just earning money to live.  Life is to be enjoyed.  Moments are precious.  Never forget that.

Off to make my New Years Resolutions list now…

What’s on your list????

Sonya… She Idealist.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

