She Idealist

Idealism over Realism… yes please!!

What other’s think and say…

Why do we as a people care so much about what other’s think and say about us, or don’t say?  Why do we put so much weight on their words and actions towards us?  Are we that insecure and unsure of ourselves?

I like to think that I am a fairly confident and strong person.  However, even I find myself doing this exact thing.  Even yesterday and today I found myself reaching out to someone, and then I was sitting on nervous insecure pins & needles wishing for a positive reply.  I mean REALLY!?  Is it really that bad if someone doesn’t like me?  Is it really that bad if someone doesn’t feel like replying to me?  Is my world really going to end if I get my feelings hurt or heart broken?

The answer that you or I do not want to hear is… NO!  This world keeps turning.  Your life keeps on going.  “This too shall pass.”

My mom used to tell us children all the time, “when things are going bad, just hold on because ‘this too shall pass;’ when things are going good, cherish it because ‘this too shall pass.'”  It was a good life lesson and one that also means that no matter what, this world keeps turning.  Change is hard, but can also be exciting.

We should try to practice and learn that others think and say about or to us, or choose not to say to us, really is not quite as important as our hearts think it is.  Today, I have had to practice the old “out of sight, out of mind” approach.  Some people are better at this than others.  I am a slightly impatient person and seem to want answers faster than they are really absolutely NEEDED.  I need to slow down, take a deep breath, and just allow myself to be vulnerable.  If I have reached out to someone, it is their prerogative if they reply or how they reply to me.  I have to allow whatever will be to be.  I have done my part, and I then need to let go of it.

You are still who you are.  Anything they could say or do does not change who you are!  Just be okay with who and where you are.  If they don’t reply or don’t reply the way you hoped.  Just take a calming breath, and move on.  It is really okay.  You are really okay.

I love you and am giving you a big cyber hug right now.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

